Baking out of “Breaking Breads”

I’m a bit obsessed with Uri Scheft’s Breaking Breads. (See all those scraps of paper I’m using as bookmarks?)

IMG_3883

In the past two weeks, I have made several batches of his berry and ricotta brioche buns. As I write this, a slab of advanced babka dough is having its final 24-hour beauty sleep in the fridge, and may be turned into a chocolate delight.

But I want to rave about something savory: his challah falafel rolls.

He writes about how his wife came up with the idea of marrying challah dough with “all of the spices and magic of falafel.” And it does.

Although his recipe calls falafel a “filling,” it’s not. The chickpeas, caramelized onions and spices are mixed right into the dough. It makes for a substantial roll, to eat plain or with a soup or stew, or to use as a sandwich bread.

I shaped my first batch as the recipe (check here for it) directed into torpedo shapes but I took creative license with the second and third batches. I shaped batch two into balls filled with feta. I shaped batch three more like buns, so they would be easier to use for sandwich bread.

IMG_3906

 

After mixing, the dough is slightly sticky and a bit hard to manipulate. But after bulk fermentation, it’s delightful.

As with any recipe calling for garbanzo beans, you can use canned beans. I made batch one with canned chickpeas, but I made batches two and three with home-cooked chickpeas.

Leave a Reply

